Gyeongbokgung, or the palace of Felicitous Blessing, was the main palace of the Joseon Dynasty (1392-1910). It opened in 1395, the fourth year of the reign of Taejo, the founding monarch of Joseon. The palace attained all necessary facilities and systems commensurate with its status as Joseon's primary palace during the reign of Sejong (r. 1418-1450).
It was burnt down in 1592 during the Japanese invasions and remained in ruins until extensive reconstruction was undertaken in 1868, the fifth year of Gojong. However, many of the structures were removed during the Japanese colonial rule (1908-1945).
